Nerd Chic

Like my Schmotter collage?

Just saw this on a magazine rack and thought at first that I really didn’t need to pay three bucks for a magazine just cuz there was this cute little nerdy guy on the front, but then I saw it again at the next store, and well…

Awwww. That bow tie…

Nerd chic is where it’s at, I tell ya. The cover made me want to dedicate a post to the trend. I remember when Anne Hathaway rocked the geek glasses for the Rio LA Premiere, and I thought she was adorable in them. I have a few friends who’ve told me they aren’t buying it as a workable fashion trend (I’m paraphrasing big time on that), but I just think it is. Workable. As a fashion trend.

Anne is wearing a royal purple Gucci sheath dress with a very flattering hairstyle, but the glasses give her ensemble the real character.

Even Hello Kitty took a turn with the look; you can get this handbag and a host of other lovable Hello Dorky stuff like sunglass cases and keychains to accessories for yourself in a less subtle way to show off your geeky side. I’ve been thinking for a while now that I want the purse, but do I really need more Sanrio stuff?

I’m really a little too old to wear costumey things, but when I was younger I went around in kind of neo-Victorian garb, and I would have really jumped on this one, but it just wasn’t cool in the 80s and 90s (Steve Urkel notwithstanding) and anyway I’ve always been a for-real nerd, so it’s just as well that I didn’t go around flagrently emulating the fashionably out-of-touch appearance as a teen.

About kirinjirafa

I have far too many interests, start far too many projects, and buy far too many books. Many of them are about giraffes, but not nearly enough.
This entry was posted in Celebrities, Clothing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nerd Chic

Leave a Reply

